I finally got to try Elden Ring

Disclaimer: I never played any Dark Souls games so I’m new to this.

I’m not in too far, but that’s perfectly okay with this game.

What Elden Ring has done wrong:
1) It’s obviously out of the gate designed for XBox, but I’m playing on PC, and the keyboard configs are not designed well for PC, even when you convert over to Keyboard UI. Gear rotation is tied to the right side directional keys while also expecting you to play with a mouse for attacking and guarding, and potions share a slot with your mount summons and throwing weapons, which makes combat rotations very rough. It also expects you to use wasd to move and strafe attacks so basically the default settings expect you to have 3 hands. Can be fixed, but I haven’t done it yet.
2) character creation is crude and doesn’t offer tooltips to benefit, and every slider has a confirm before you can exit to adjust another slider.
3) Spoiler: Game uses the same kind of intro recently used in Resident Evil: Village where you are designed to die- a lot-as part of the development. ( not a big deal: it’s trying to establish that your character isn’t alive but really a remnant with a task).

What Elden Ring does RIGHT:

EVERYTHING ELSE

I mean it.
There is no quest clutter, and clues are dropped in dialogue, not a ton of text.
The game immediately makes you aware you aren’t God’s gift to gaming but originally so weak that a boar can kill you, or a shabby dog. You immediately will experience annoying CC mobs that poison, bleed, or paralyze with echolocation. You will meet riders who will hunt you down, dragons, large abominations, and fortifications that will rain down arrows on you.
But that’s okay. All mistakes cost you is you current purse.