New to Game - Getting Wrecked as Templar

I downloaded this game a year ago, but never played it until now, so I'm new to the game.

Anyways, I'm level 53 and I've died 340 times! I'm getting wrecked... I want to cast spells, mostly lightning, without being squishy.

Can anyone help me build a strong leveling build for Templar, one that's tanky and uses ligtning?

Here's my characters profile. Maybe someone can explain from this why I'm dying so much... Character is named Nirvanis.

https://www.pathofexile.com/account/view-profile/Nehanzen/characters
Last bumped on Nov 27, 2018, 12:16:29 AM
Hello brother!

Your profile is set to private so even with the link I don't think we can see your gear/gems (I can't at least) but let me give you some basic suggestions about surviving Wraeclast (I'm a rather old player, never been in endgame stuff nor top notch builds but I have a good knowledge fo the general game).

First of all, you seem to have at least a decent grip of the game since you are around my level which means you have the knoweldge needed to understand the builds that are listed in this forum, check them for some insight. Most of them tell you in the thread title which is their main spell or style.

Second, make sure you take the Ascension class in Sarn labirynth, it gives a lot of good stuff. Obvisouly you need to have already decided which build/skills you want to use because there is no reset of Ascension passive points as I recall.