Sigh

Hi, I'm new. I don't know where new people go and post so if this is not the forum to just let me know.

I've started playing PoE about 2 weeks ago. I really love the game and when I ask questions on global chat everyone was really friendly and nice, until I responded to a question/remark whether girls play PoE.

So yes, I'm a girl.

All the comments that follow are just so...grrr. It's my first time playing a ARPG and I'm a little disheartened.

Last bumped on Nov 21, 2019, 3:22:25 PM
"
niftyfingers wrote:
Hi, I'm new. I don't know where new people go and post so if this is not the forum to just let me know.

I've started playing PoE about 2 weeks ago. I really love the game and when I ask questions on global chat everyone was really friendly and nice, until I responded to a question/remark whether girls play PoE.

So yes, I'm a girl.

All the comments that follow are just so...grrr. It's my first time playing a ARPG and I'm a little disheartened.

The more you insist you're a girl, the more people are going to mock, troll, and/or harass you. Real girls generally already know this and most avoid the drama by not getting it started in the first place. Now you know, too.

Welcome to online games.
I have a pretty good sense of humor. I'm not German.
Yes, indeed. To avoid dramas better not say a thing.

I didn't insist during the convo. Just said one sentence and that was all. Muted global chat right after.
Maybe you didn't insist in global, but then you came here to reiterate that you're a girl. All you're really doing is asking for trouble lol. Most people don't even care if you're really a girl or not. I know I sure don't. But trolls are trolls either way...
I have a pretty good sense of humor. I'm not German.
I don't get it, do girls play PoE? Well yes, they obviously do.

What exactly is the fall-out beyond saying that the question in itself is stupid and most likely bait.

Like there are meme's around this topic like

Guy
In
Real
Life